In his last post Kevin talked about the way of the cross being vulnerable love. I think it’s a valuable post that probably should be revisited, although I’m not sure I’m smart enough to expound on it. I will say I struggle with vulnerable love for others. Despite my leftist leanings and somewhat liberal ideology I still find it hard to care for my fellow man.

I don’t think I’m alone in saying it’s hard for me to care about my fellow man. I think this is why Jesus spent so much time displaying love to people through the washing of feet or doing of miracles. I also think the reason the greatest commandment is to love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength is because through Christ we find the power to love each other. It’s also why the second greatest commandment is to love your neighbor as yourself. We will constantly think of ourselves/myself first versus other people.

When true Christian love is displayed and put into action we see lives changed, miracles occur and relationships grow. It would be very easy to rant against the American church here but I won’t. I will say that we must focus less on self-preservation and politics and focus more on people and communities. Christ’s call to love is a radical departure from not only his time but ours as well.

We’re a society that’s obsessed with drama and ourselves but mostly we’re obsessed with being obsessed. We need to find something to get worked up about. How about instead of guns, elections and political rhetoric, we get worked up about injustices and our neighbors?

Yes I realize this is a flower in the barrel of a gun post but it doesn’t need to be and it shouldn’t be. We are called and compelled by Christ to love as he did, and if we do not we are not living up to his commission.

