Sometimes we have to do things that do not feel like us, or go against a belief we’ve held to get further along in life. This isn’t to say you need to murder to get insurance money, that’s a bit extreme, and frowned upon. I mean at some point you’ll be in a situation that feels so foreign and so…to quote Liz Lemon, “blurg.” This is a post to say fight through.

Look we’ve all had the job that wasn’t fun, whether it was a pizza joint, or an office job that slowly pulled you apart at the seams, but in the end, you learned from it. I’m not saying all the lessons were deep and profound, some of them could have just been – hey don’t do this again, you don’t enjoy it. But you learned, that’s the key. Life is a continual series of trial and error. When you’re a child you learn through trial and error – if you stick your finger in an electrical socket it hurts. When you’re a teenager, you learn that the opposite sex can break your heart. You also learn that bipolar teenage girls are not to be trifled with….oh is that just me? The thing is, you’re always learning and there are times where you have to sit though the lesson much longer than you plan.

Paul himself had a thorn in his side that he carried with him always. We’re not sure exactly what it was, but we know it wasn’t taken. Sometimes we have to fight through and in the end we’re better for it. This isn’t to say that it’s easy, nor is it to say that you should be happy, I think we’ve clearly established on this blog that we like sadness sometimes. This is to say that you need to press through because that’s what we do. We endure suffering, we endure pain because of Christ. He endured suffering and pain, he knows our struggles. He comes along side and walks with us. So do not be discouraged, even if you’re completely lost and given up hope in the situation. Christ endures. The moment doesn’t last forever, you do move past, you do carry on. You may even look back and say that this period help create who you are today.

I’ve alluded to it before, but years ago I was a part of a church plant. Things started well, but eventually I grew dissatisfied with what we were doing. My wife and I stayed far longer than we should have because of friendships developed and it really soured my taste on many things, not the least of which was “seeker friendly” churches. I won’t get into the specifics, nor rail against “seeker friendly” churches here, but just know, I’m out on those. Essentially we stayed and lost ourselves somewhat and while we did eventually leave, we spent far too long in the desert. Looking back now, I see that despite frustration and anger at the time, God crafted us and gave us new insights moving forward we wouldn’t have otherwise and for that I’m thankful. I’d really like those years back, but the wisdom and knowledge is huge.

So that’s where I say – fight through. Look for light through the darkness. God doesn’t leave you to suffer alone. Cling.

