I need to get something off my chest –

If I see one more political post on my Facebook feed, I may go completely and certifiably insane.

I appreciate that you have an opinion. I appreciate that our country allows for all of us to have an opinion. I don’t appreciate seeing your opinion 24/7. It’s there when I go to sleep and it’s there when I wake up. I literally cannot escape your opinion…ever.

Imagine for a moment that you’re at a party, and the party is going well, but there’s one guy that turns every comment into a political one. What do you do? You leave him alone, because this is a social setting and you don’t want to see the pot continuously stirred…again…and again…and again. There’s a time and place to discuss politics, and Facebook is neither the time nor the place. Why? This is why –

1. Every post makes every person appear to be the extreme of whatever they actually are. There is no middle ground in the post. There is no calm voice of reason. There is only – this is what I believe and if you don’t believe me, then you probably hate America, and the troops, and the children, and the future, and the children of the future. You may not be a dirt worshipping treehugger, but posting a picture from the group “Darwin’s Favorite Children” isn’t doing you any type of favor. You want to discuss your views on taxes, gay marriage, Obama, Rand Paul, abortion, the environment? Let’s do that in person. I don’t want to see a picture of a tree with a quaint saying in Arial in white. This leads me to point two.

2. You’re not helping the political discussion in this country. If there is one thing this country doesn’t need it’s more soundbyte politics. To quote West Wing –

There it is. That’s the ten word answer my staff’s been looking for for two weeks. There it is. Ten-word answers can kill you in political campaigns. They’re the tip of the sword. Here’s my question: What are the next ten words of your answer? Your taxes are too high? So are mine. Give me the next ten words. How are we going to do it? Give me ten after that, I’ll drop out of the race right now. Every once in a while… every once in a while, there’s a day with an absolute right and an absolute wrong, but those days almost always include body counts. Other than that, there aren’t very many unnuanced moments in leading a country that’s way too big for ten words. I’m the President of the United States, not the President of the people who agree with me. And by the way, if the left has a problem with that, they should vote for somebody else.

I realize some of you are rolling your eyes, but I don’t care. You’re short little sayings that actually means nothing, or are intended to fire someone up, are asinine. The current state of discussion in this country no longer focuses on the issues. No longer are their true debates where both sides are weighed out and a reasonable conclusion is drawn. We find ourselves in a time where the only type of debate/discussion we have is character assassination. You don’t agree with the other person? Well, why would you? They’re just an idiot that probably hates America, and the troops, and the children, and the future, and the children of the future. We no longer discuss why we disagree with a stance, we discuss why the other person is horribly flawed and wrong. We do not discuss the objectivity, but the idiocy of the person.

The interesting part of point 2 is the question as to whether we’ve ever truly discussed an argument somewhat fairly. There are records of old presidential debates devolving into something similar to today, so perhaps point 2 is merely to say we’ve left any shred of objectivity behind and we solely focus on the character. Perhaps with the advent of 24 hour news we lost the last of objectivity to the pandering to constituents we so often see. I don’t know…but I know I don’t like it.

3. You’re continuous posts make me dislike you. There’s no other way to put it. Whether I agree or disagree with your talk, I eventually grow to loathe you. No one likes having another person’s opinions and thoughts forcefed over and over and over to them. We may be good friends, but if you post enough, I may start to distance from you. Call me shallow, call me callous – I don’t care. I’m speaking openly here.

Now, you may say – Eric, just defriend them. Just hide them, just block them….Why should I? Blocking and defriending are not always viable options. Maybe we need to view Facebook less like our platform and more like what it really is – study hall. We all get to sit around and chat, we don’t get to preach.

And yes, I realize I’m pushing 1000 words on a blog espousing my own opinions and you’re reading them, but you clicked through. You came to this. I didn’t post this 45 times over the past 3 days forcing you to see it.

You may not like Obama, you may think he’s a terrible president. But if I see one more comparison of Obama to Hitler, I will lose it. Every time you post this, you slap the face of the millions that died at the hands of Hitler. READ A BOOK and you’ll see that Obama is not Hitler. Obama will not become Hitler, Obama CANNOT become Hitler. You know why? BECAUSE WE LIVE IN AMERICA AND THERE ARE TERM LIMITS. So stop it. The fact that Obama is pushing gun regulation does not mean he’s on par with Hitler. How dare you compare the two. How dare you slap the face of those that survived the Holocaust. I’m so sorry that Obama has pushed universal Healthcare. That’s totally the same as Bergen-Belsen.

Look, I know we disagree on things. I know you and I don’t see eye to eye. But I promise you this –

I’ll talk with you. I want to hear you out. Maybe I’ve been a jerk in the past. Maybe I’ve spoken harshly and assassinated your character instead of openly discussing issues.

I’m sorry. I’m working on it.

Will you?

