Broken.

I’ve written about this a lot. Kevin has written about this. There are probably millions of Christian books on this, but it keeps coming up.

Humans are broken.

The whole lot of us. In every way we’re fractured. It’d be funny if it weren’t so horribly true and the main cause of so much trouble in this world. We’re all part of a great tragedy. We are all born into a play that keeps moving at a slow dull pace reminding us daily that you and I are hopelessly wandering in a world that eats its young. I can barely stomach the news. I can barely stomach the sad realities that my friends face. I can barely stomach much of anything anymore.

You can call me jaded, cynical, whatever. I just look out and see so much pain and suffering that I want to tear up my clothes and hide in ashes. I see now why people would do that in mourning. It makes sense to me – gather your family and weep together. A band of broken people hurling themselves face-first into somber reflection.

I’ve recently become a manager within my company and the part that’s the hardest is dealing with employees with horrible issues happening outside of work. Work becomes an escape for them. Work becomes a refuge because you can control the variables. You can lock yourself into another reality for a period of each day and not face the other pressing issues outside. It shouldn’t be like this.

I had a post written about “truth” and how we avoid it. How we as humans spend so much time lying to make ourselves look better, that real truth escapes us. We no longer know where the line is between fact and fiction. But that’s not entirely true. There’s one truth we know – there is pain in this world. True pain. Everyone at some point will have their heart split wide open. You cannot escape that.

So now what? I’ve painted a bleak picture haven’t I? And it is bleak, but it’s not the end. There’s joy in this world. Insurmountable joy. A joy that breaks through the bondage of death. A joy that tears open the floodgates of heaven and pours out hope on a world awash in pain. This is why Jesus talks about abundant life before the grave. He knows and we know that eternal life in communion with the father is beautiful and glorious, but if that’s our only hope and the only thing we preach, we render this life meaningless. This life is not meaningless. Christ has come, the old is gone. You can commune with him now. You can pass from death to life now. The reason the Gospels carry on is not only because they’re true, but because they offer a glimpse into what humanity can become. The better man. The second Adam. Christ came not only to save us, but to give us a vision of what we can be. He himself said we’d do greater things than he did. And while we need to understand that verse in context, there is still this – the full power of God is available now to you. Why do you not allow it to work in your life?

The bleak sad story that is humanity has been interrupted by the eternal blazing glory of its creator. There is a life swelling in our midst beckoning us to take hold.

I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God. (Romans 8:18-21 NIV)

